Getting a Bamboo Tattoo in Pai

We were only in Northern Thailand for another week before heading south to the beaches of Koh Chang, so I wanted to get my long-awaited bamboo tattoo while we were either in Pai or Chiang Mai to give the tattoo time to heal before soaking myself in seawater. Adam had stumbled across something somewhere on the internet, saying that getting a tattoo in Pai is relatively cheaper and of better quality than getting one in Chiang Mai. I can’t say anything in regards to comparison of quality, but my bamboo tattoo was quoted 2000+ THB in CM vs 1500 THB in Pai. Also, bamboo tattoos are generally more expensive than the gun ones. 

spaceI had already done a bit of research on some of the more popular tattoo studios before coming to Pai. The place I stopped into first was one of the more popular studios, Monkey Magic. Unbeknownst to me, Monkey Magic only does machine tattoos. Friendly, and (from what I’ve seen of his portfolio) talented artist and owner, Poh, chatted with us for a bit before recommending that I see his friend, Dum, owner/artist of Space Bamboo Tattoo located about a block away.

Friendly staff, clean establishment, they let me watch them unwrap and prepare the new needle/ink/gloves, and my tattoo was exactly what I had wanted. They even wrap and let you keep your bamboo tattoo needle when you’re finished! (I haven’t quite decided if this is really cool or really unsanitary. Just make sure to dispose of it safely and properly if you don’t decide to pack your souvenir.)

As for pain during the tattoo: I find that it’s the same level of discomfort, but just a different kind. (“Same Same but Different!”) While the machine tattoo produces that scratching-slicing-annoying type irritation, the bamboo tattooing was more of a poking-poking-annoying type. I guess it’s really a matter of pain-tolerence to begin with, but now having experienced both, I find the bamboo tattoo process and aftercare a much more pleasant and self-fulfilling experience. 

tattooduring

Pokepokepokepokepoke….Breathe….Pokepokepokepokepokepoke….

tattoodone

Fun fact: Bamboo tattoos heal significantly faster than machine/gun tattoos. Mine had fully healed within 4 days of getting it. There was no bleeding during, no scabbing, and very little peeling after. I’ve even read that you can go swimming the day after, as opposed to the 2 week water restriction you receive after a machine tattoo. We went out swimming at the beach 6 days after I got mine and it still looks great. Be smart; It’s still a good idea to keep your new tattoo clean and protected, as healing time varies by individual. Wash and clean gently with antibacterial soap. Use sunblock when exposed. Apply thin layers of unscented moisturizer every now and again. And (Duh!) don’t pick it, scratch it, rub it, peel it. 

spacecards

Note: Space Bamboo Tattoo specializes in both bamboo and machine tattoos. Though my design is not traditional, Dum is also experienced in more traditional Thai-style tattoos. 

Hope this post proves helpful if you DO decide to bring home a traditional bamboo tattoo as a memento from Northern Thailand!

One response to “Getting a Bamboo Tattoo in Pai

  1. Pingback: 3 (Turned 4) Days in Pai-Land, Thailand | MaysNConfused·

Leave a comment